Posted by: aatosbeck | November 14, 2008

The long way Home!

The long way Home

The long way Home by Aatos Beck © 2004

One day seems to be longer as the other, why is that?
A while ago I was walking back from the car that had no
fuel anymore to find the nearest tank station.

On the map it seemed just a short straight line, but I
found out that maps don’t show the hills you encounter
during this.
So due to that the distance is almost doubled, going up
and down again and again while seeing a city in the distance
appear and disappear time after time.

And when it starts getting misty while the sun is going down,
the wild animals start moving in their own way too.

Then you can stand eye to eye with a moose crossing over
the road and stand just a few meters away from it.

Thanking it’s not breeding seasons or that they have a new
born calve next to them, for then it could get ugly… if you
know what I mean… then they aren’t that friendly towards
people.

And having to back up for a while… getting started to walk
again seems tiring and heavy.
You must know that feeling if you have walked for miles and
suddenly stop your legs are getting so heavy?

Well I got to that point too, and still had to walk the whole
way back after I got the gasoline.
As the tank station was left behind me and had my 10 litres
of gasoline it seemed like the long way home… a road that
never stops…. A road that seems like eternity…. never ending.

Finally I saw the car standing against the sunset and the mist.
I must say that was one of the most beautiful sights I had seen
for a long time, but then started the part… now I see it…
now I don’t… now I see it… now I don’t
When finally I got to the car the weight of the canister with
gasoline made my arms shake of tiredness.

And after that I sat down into the car…. And fell asleep.

When I woke up it was completely pitch dark outside, started
the engine and rode home.
Over a distance of ten miles it took me almost ten hours to
finally get to my destination,

So that’s what I call: ”The long way Home”.

Written by Aatos Beck © 14-11-2008.

Responses

  1. […] As the tank station was left behind me and had my 10 litres of gasoline it seemed like the long way home … a road that never stops…. A road that seems like eternity…. Read more […]

  2. I love your site!

    _____________________
    Experiencing a slow PC recently? Fix it now!


Leave a Reply

Categories

